10 Comments
author

Thanks for all your input on this! Exciting feature coming up next week highlighting the ancient dishes of Fatorda

Expand full comment

Good idea, Emma. I remember some of the dishes(esp.meat)

from South Goa are more 'fiery' than those from my village in the North.

As there is quite a shift towards vegetarianism these days, maybe a good idea to

include some Goan vegetable dishes?

Expand full comment

I know there's a big difference between Catholic and Hindu dishes but never thought about differences between regions and villages. You could probably explore more Hindu-Konkan dishes. I know they have lots of great fish curries and veg/lentil dishes or maybe do a comparison post with the East Indian or Manglorean takes on Goan dishes like Vindaloo.

Expand full comment

I don't appear to have received this newsletter in my emails 😒

Expand full comment

I think a look into non curry dishes - chicken cafrael as well.

Side dishes that really bring out the flavours of a main dish - like differing Goan salads, vegetable dishes (Okra/a lady Fingers / the simple but tasty fried shredded cabbage w coconut ).

Those dishes that can help people make a full rounded Goan meal.

Also left over ideas - sausage pao, cutlet pao, cafrael roll. “Goan street food” not strictly - but I’ve eaten plenty from home run sellers and it’s been the best food ever as a lunch time snack or late night bite to eat.

So in essence looking at what you would find around the table not just in the middle - and what happens after and how to make the most of the left over food - :)

Expand full comment

This is a good thing , spread awareness , I personally was baffled with the various sweet dishes that i learned of only after i joined TGF .... I suggest that as a good topic to explore & even discover 👍

Expand full comment